Fina water is our world
Image Source :
  • 1908

    Foundation of FINA in London (GBR), with 8 nations: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary and Sweden.

  • 1912

    Women contest for the first time Aquatic events at the Stockholm (SWE) Olympic Games.

  • 1922

    Johnny Weissmuller (USA) becomes the first man to swim the 100m free inside the minute (58.6).

  • 1926

    Gertrude Ederle (USA) is the first woman to swim the English Channel, in a time two hours faster than the previous man’s record for this crossing.

  • 1948

    Water polo goes global at the London Olympics, with the participation of 18 teams from the five continents.

  • 1956

    Butterfly swimming events make their entry at the Melbourne (AUS) Olympic Games.

  • 1957

    World Records are only valid in metric measurements.

  • 1964

    Dawn Fraser (AUS) completes her unprecedented “hat-trick” at the Tokyo Games: third consecutive Olympic victory in the 100m free.

  • 1968

    Electronic timing makes its appearance at the Mexico City Olympics.

  • 1972

    Mark Spitz (USA) is the first athlete ever to win seven gold medals (in Swimming) at one edition of the Olympics – in Munich (GER). All his victories were accompanied by World Records.

  • 1973

    First FINA World Championships in Belgrade (YUG). Swimming, Water polo, Diving and Synchronised Swimming are represented (Open water Swimming is added to the programme in 1991).

  • 1980

    Vladimir Salnikov (URS) is the first swimmer to break the 15-minute limit in the 1500m free: he clocks 14:58.27 for his Olympic title in Moscow.

  • 1984

    Entry of Synchronised Swimming in the Olympic programme for the Los Angeles Games.

  • 1986

    Opening of the first FINA permanent office in Lausanne (SUI).

  • 1988

    Greg Louganis (USA) calls it a day after his fifth Olympic medal in a superb Diving career. He was also five times on a FINA World Championships’ podium.

  • 1991

    Recognition of World Records in 25m-pools..

  • 1992

    Barcelona (ESP) is the last Olympics of a great Swimming champion: Matt Biondi (USA) – 11 medals at the Games, and also 11 awards at FINA World Championships.

  • 1993

    First edition of the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m) in Palma de Mallorca (ESP).

  • 1996

    By many considered the best Water polo player in history, Manuel Estiarte (ESP) wins gold at the Atlanta Games. He was present at six Olympics (1980-2000)!

  • 2000

    Women’s Water polo and Synchronised Diving enter the Olympic programme in Sydney (AUS).

  • 2004

    Alexander Popov (RUS) leaves the pools following a successful career that includes nine Olympic medals and 11 awards at FINA World Championships.

  • 2005

    The IOC confirms the inclusion of Marathon Swimming (10km) in the Olympic programme, from the 2008 Games in Beijing (CHN).

  • 2008

    Michael Phelps (USA) surpasses Mark Spitz and becomes the only athlete in history to win eight gold medals at one edition of the Games, in Beijing (CHN). Four years later, at the conclusion of the London Games, he announces the end of his swimming career, with a total of 22 Olympic awards, including 18 gold – the best ever in Olympic history.

  • 2010

    FINA organises the first edition of the FINA World Aquatics Convention in Punta del Este (URU).

  • 2011

    Guo Jingjing (CHN) closes her brilliant Diving career, after six Olympic and 11 World medals. She remains the best female diver in history.

  • 2012

    After the second edition in 2012 in Moscow (RUS), as a stand-alone event, the Convention is organised, from 2014 onwards, in conjunction with the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m).

  • 2013

    High Diving is included for the first time in the programme of the FINA World Championships – in Barcelona (ESP).

  • 2014

    Doha (QAT) receives the 12th edition of the FINA World Swimming Championships (25m), in a great Aquatic Festival, comprising also the FINA World Aquatics Convention, the FINA Swimming Coaches Golden Clinic, a FINA Extraordinary Congress, a "Soirée des Etolies" gala to honour the best athletes of the year, and a Swimming Youth Programme.

  • 2015

    From Jul. 24 to Aug. 16, Kazan (RUS) staged for the first time in FINA's history, the FINA World Championships, immediately followed by the FINA World Masters Championships. At the elite competition, mixed events were held for the first time in Swimming, Diving and Synchronised Swimming.

  • 2017

    17th FINA World Championships was held from Jul. 14 to 30 in Budapest (HUN).

Official FINA Partners

  • Arena
  • Myrtha Pools
  • Nikon
  • Yakult

National Sponsors

  • KT
  • 광주은행
  • 중흥S-클래스

Official FINA Suppliers

  • Malmsten
  • MiKASA

National Suppliers

  • 신세계톰보이
  • DB손해보험

National Supporters

  • (주)세방여행
  • 티켓링크
  • 제일 에프앤에스