Fina water is our world

Founded in 1908, The Fédération Internationale de Natation is the world governing body for Aquatics. The official FINA disciplines are swimming, water polo, diving, artistic swimming, open water swimming, and high diving. High diving was first incorporated into official FINA competitions at the 2013 FINA World Championships. Currently FINA comprises 209 National Member Federations in five continents. FINA HQ is located in Lausanne, Switzerland.

  • Established : Jul. 19, 1908 (London)
  • Headquarters : Lausanne, Switzerland
  • National Member Federation s: 209
  • No. of aquatic disciplines: 6

Since 1973, FINA has organized its World Championships featuring swimming, diving, high diving (from 2013), water polo, synchronised swimming and open water swimming (since 1991). So far 17 FINA World Championships have been held, with the 18th Championships scheduled to take place in Gwangju, Korea, 2019.

FINA 본부 전경사진
  • 1908.

    Foundation of FINA in London (GBR), with 8 nations: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary and Sweden.

  • 1973.

    First FINA World Championships in Belgrade (YUG).

  • 2010.

    FINA organizes the first edition of the FINA World Aquatics Convention in Punta del Este (URU).

  • 2015.

    Kazan (RUS) staged the FINA World Championships, immediately followed by the FINA World Masters Championships, marking the first time in FINA’s history that both Championships were held together.

FINA and its aquatic disciplines are also a pillar of the Olympic Movement and give a decisive contribution to the success of the Summer Games. Swimming has been a part of the Olympic programme since 1896, water polo became the first team sport in the Games in 1900, and diving made its appearance in 1904. Eighty years later, synchronised swimming joined the Olympic club in 1984, while open water marathon swimming (10km race for men and women) has been included in the Olympic programme since 2008.

FINA organizes the World Championships, World Masters Championships, and World Aquatics Convention.

Official FINA Partners

National Sponsors

Official FINA Suppliers

National Suppliers

National Supporters